Skip links and keyboard navigation

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

Mr Cotter is responsible for the Commission’s direction and outcomes. He works with his fellow Commissioners to manage and improve sustainable coexistence among rural landholders, regional communities and the onshore gas industry in Queensland.

Background: Mr Cotter is a beef producer and industry leader with more than 30 years of experience in rural advocacy. He is a former AgForce President and has successfully negotiated the rights of rural property owners in challenging times. Mr Cotter has a track record of bringing gas company senior executives, landholders, government and advocacy groups to the same table and leading open and frank discussions on co-existence.

Shane Charles, Commissioner – Community and Business

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

The portfolio aims to ensure the long term sustainability of regional communities and maximise opportunities for local businesses.

Background: Mr Charles is a qualified lawyer and business manager and currently leads the regional development group, Toowoomba and Surat Basin Enterprise.

Steven Raine, Commissioner – Science and Research

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

The portfolio identifies knowledge gaps and helps to direct future scientific research such as floodplain management, groundwater and salt management.

Background: Professor Raine is a leading academic and soil scientist. He is the Executive Director of the Institute for Agriculture and the Environment at the University of Southern Queensland in Toowoomba.

Ray Brown, Commissioner – Local Government and Infrastructure

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

The portfolio aims to assist local governments to better understand and manage potential impacts on community services and plan infrastructure development.

Background: Mr Brown has been an agricultural producer for 35 years and is mayor of Western Downs Regional Council in the heart of the Surat Basin.

Ian Hayllor, Commissioner – Water and Salt Management

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

The portfolio aims to ensure access to and quality of groundwater are not compromised, and produced water and salt are utilised for the benefit of regional communities.

Background: Dalby farmer and irrigator, Mr Hayllor, has grown cotton and grain crops on the Darling Downs since the 1980s. He has built a reputation as a leader in engaging with the coal seam gas industry.

Don Stiller, Commissioner – Land Access

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

The portfolio focuses on levelling the playing field in land access and compensation negotiations and ensures professional conduct is carried out on private property.

Background: Mr Stiller is a beef producer and feedlot owner and has served in local government for a total of 23 years, 11 as Taroom Shire Council Mayor. Mr Stiller has extensive experience negotiating with resource companies on his properties.

Rick Wilkinson, Commissioner – Gas Industry Development

John Cotter, Commission Chairman

The portfolio seeks to ensure transparency and comprehensive standards and codes across the onshore gas industry in Queensland.

Background: Mr Wilkinson has worked in the petroleum industry for 34 years and is the Chief Technical Officer for the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association (APPEA).

Selection of Commissioners

The qualifications and experience required for appointment as a commissioner are set out in Section 10 of the Gasfields Commission Act 2013 and cover industry, science, legal, negotiations, land management and valuation, community development and the financial and business sector.

Appointment of Commissioners

Commissioners (including the Chairperson) are appointed by the Governor-in-Council under the terms of the Gasfields Commission Act 2013 for a period of three years. Commissioners are paid the remuneration and allowances decided by the Governor-in-Council.

Disclosure of interests

The Commission must keep a register of each Commissioner's pecuniary interests. The Chairperson must provide their pecuniary interests to the Minister and the Queensland Integrity Commissioner.

Commissioners are required to disclose any financial interests for them or a close relative in relation to a matter being considered at Commission board meetings. Full details on disclosure of interests by Commissioners are outlined in Section 18 and 19 of the Gasfields Commission Act 2013.